Notifications
Clear all

Mom of two at 35, contemplating medical field...sound crazy?

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@ogula13)
Topic starter  

I am 35 years old, a mother of two with a 28 month toddler and a 8 month baby. I have a bachelor's degree in computer science, and 3 more classes to take to finish my master's in Software Engineering. For the last 2 years, I have contemplated about getting into the medical field, but my husband really wanted to start a family, and I agreed to do that, and put my thoughts away. Now that I think I'm really done with kids, those itching thoughts are back. I want to know if it's realistic of me to think that with 2 little ones, 2 house payments, a full time job, that I happen to be great at, is it realistic for me to back to school, apply to medical school, go through all the training and residency? Would I be sacrificing my children's upbringing because of the commitments that come with the medical field? Even with everything aligning correctly, should I go ahead and finish my master's in Software Engineering? Or should I just start taking the pre-med classes at a 4 year institution, or, at a community college?

Thanks for taking the time to read and respond.

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

Ogula13,