Notifications
Clear all

Highschool student looking to go into Med field

7 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@dbdnjstkd93)
Topic starter  

hi, im a sophomore in high school dreaming to go into medical field and i just have bunch of questions

what are classes that are required to take in high school in order to major in medical related field or even pre-med? do i need to take a year of physics or just chem and bio?

I heard there are medical programs in certain colleges? whats the advantages of going into medical program and what university has one?

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

I'd suggest you first check out this thread:

High school classes to become a psychiatrist

Psychiatry is a specialty after medical school, so the information on getting into medical school applies no matter what your chosen medical specialty may be.

As far as required classes in high school, it really doesn't matter a whole lot as you'll need to take college level biology, chemistry, organic chemistry, and physics. I think most high school students do take biology, chemistry and physics - and some even take AP level science classes.

When you say that you heard there are medical programs at certain colleges, do you mean that it is a university that has a college and a medical school? Or do you mean programs where you complete both your undergraduate and your medical school training at the same place in one program?

There is no specific advantages to going to a college that also has a medical school, but you may have a slightly increased chance of getting accepted into that medical school if you happen to impress your teachers and do research with someone who has clout in the medical school. Most likely that won't be the deciding factor for someone though it can't hurt (unless you make a very bad impression with someone with clout).